Evaluating the K's

Reaction score
Aloha!
i was wondering which of the 4 K's is the loudest.. i've been playing the ukulele for 10 years.. and i am currently using my pono tenor... but i want to have a custom ukulele from one of the major K builders.. can you please tell me which is the loudest? thank you.. and while you're at it.. please share your opinions/experiences regarding each with the basic models...
I am pretty much pleased with the sound of all the K brands so i will say that i prefer all of them... all i want to know is which one is the loudest, the second loudest, etc... thank you

Plus:
wouldnt it be great to have an ukulele with the Kamaka body shape (IMOO the sexiest)body purfling, binding, rosette and slotted headstock, kanilea UV gloss finish, koaloha neck dimensions (fastest neck) and the koolau radius fretboard??? The volume of koaloha with the note clarity and separation of koolau plus a combined tone of kanilea and kamaka would be sweet.. :)

Last edited:
Why so focused on the loudness of the uke? The loudest uke in the room does not equate to the "best".

I have never played a Ko'olau but have tenors from the other three. If volume is what you want, there is no comparison, KoAloha is the loudest. It also has the best customer service and (to my ears) the best tone. Kanilea has a nice warm tone and is the prettiest. Kamaka has the longest history and a traditional sound.

Just my two cents...but the KoAloha is by far the loudest.

I have never played a Ko'olau but have tenors from the other three. If volume is what you want, there is no comparison, KoAloha is the loudest. It also has the best customer service and (to my ears) the best tone. Kanilea has a nice warm tone and is the prettiest. Kamaka has the longest history and a traditional sound.

Just my two cents...but the KoAloha is by far the loudest.