Considering a thickness planer

I have over 30 years of experience as a woodworker (furniture and cabinetmaking). I agree with Timbuck. A carefully set up bandsaw with a good fence for resawing (purchased or shop-made) is a fabulous tool. Along with a good drum sander or thickness sander, and you should be able to achieve good results. I've learned over the years that inexpensive tools and machinery can prove to be a 'false economy' - there are reasons that the price is so low.

Regarding the HF planer. I have absolutely no experience with this unit so this opinion is just that.

I make it a point to stay away from items with electric motors from HF. Lately there have been a lot of them for sale on CL with a burned out motors, especially their wood lathes. [ the exception is their small angle grinder, can't kill mine]. For the most part, buying a HF tool is like buying a kit. Seems that every one needs to be pulled apart, cleaned, lubed, adjusted,rough spots filed, check for all the fastners and then setup.

I have to agree with Tim a good bandsaw and a simple drum sander should handle your instrument needs. If you of the Neanderthal school of woodworking I've seen some articles on building and using a frame saw to resaw veneer.

If you are doing a lot of rough lumber prep the DeWalt planers have a good rep, but they ain't cheap.

Something to remember using planers: regardless of the brand and quality of the machine, when planing highly figured woods (curly Maple, curly Koa, etc.), the chances of 'tear-out' increase because the grain direction is undulating/changing. This discouraging occurrance is lessened with a drum sander. Good luck.

One can get around the minimum thickness of a planer if it is greater than your final thickness dimension by using a 'sled' of, say, 3/4" cabinet grade plywood.