Lanikai Tuna Uke.....Really?

Rolfie

Reaction score
Hi people

Just been looking at the Lanikai Tuna Uke and would like to know what the general opinion is out there. Whilst the tech that makes it possible is great, should we really have to buy specific kit to make something intonate ourselves? Isnt that the job of the manufacturer?

Im fairly new to ukes so maybe im missing something, but I think its Lanikais job to make sure its good before they sell it? Not to give us kit to fix it ourselves?

Would a car salesman do it? "Oh Hi Mr Smith, congratulations on your new car, by the way the wheels arnt fitted properly so if you want to drive it here is the kit to fit them on!"

The folks here who know about intonation (not me) have spoken at length about it, and how difficult it is to achieve and maintain on an ukulele. Even a luthier who compensates the nut and saddle is up against what a string change or hard fingering will do, and the folk who know have allowed that it isn't really possible to maintain perfect intonation all the way up the neck.

This Lanikai system seems to be an attempt to allow the user to alter it when them deem I t necessary. I dunno how well or if it works, but it seems more like a tool kit that comes with a bike, in case you need it. Because sooner or later, you will get a flat tire ...

Steve

Last edited:
Thats a fair comment. Just seems like a lot of hard work to me! lol

mds725 - its a system on some Lanikai ukes that allows you to adjust the nut and saddle (moving it forward and backward at each string) to make it intonate correctly at each fret all the way down the neck.

Prior to watching the video below, I did not think intonation going up the neck was a big deal at all. Well, in the video, when you see how far off the intonation was at the fifth fret, I was really surprised.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lzsj6rcsx8U