WTB: a good beater uke

Ame

Reaction score
Hey guys, so valentine's day is coming up, yea? So, wouldn't a new uke be a good present? x]

My gf has a 'beater uke' but it's really dying. haha She now has to carry around her big tenor Makai uke with her, which is her "good uke" and she carries it in her backpack. O_O So, I decided that I wanted to get her a good beater uke with a soft padded case, so she doesn't end up damaging her good one ..

I was looking for a flea or fluke for $100, but I don't know if I really want to spend that much, since I'm a broke unemployed college student. haha but I still want to get her something she can use and needs.

If anyone is selling let me know before Valentine's Day, or March 17, which is her birthday. (I might give it to her then if I can't get one in time for v-day.)

Thanks guys! :)

Oh yea, Thanks Natalie, but $120 is a lot of me.. He actually lives in socal and I live in the bay area, so it's quite far to pick up as well.

I really thought about it, but it really is too much for me right now. I wish I could though. :\

this is probably the opposite of what you are thinking...
but!

why not spend the money on a nice case for the good uke instead.
beater ukes get...er... beaten.
and 'nice' ukes sound better and are more enjoyable to play.
buying a nice case to prevent it from being damaged might be good solution?

anyway. that's just my thoughts from personal experience.
i used to try to keep a junky uke around for lugging about or keeping in my office, but found i was less likely to pull it out. and my best uke is just so nice to play, i started lugging it around with me everywhere anyway...
;)

Maybe one of those Makala "dolphin" ukes? Super-cheap, and seems like they'd be perfect for leaving in the car, taking to the beach, etc.

JJ