Difficulties with strumming. Lower the action?

Mr. Uke Guy

Reaction score
I have a new Cordoba ukulele (and I’m new to ukulele playing). I’m looking for input on whether or not I should lower the action. If I press down a string, or strings, on the fretboard in order to make a chord and then I strum with my finger, there is a considerable height difference in the strings, causing some “uneven” strumming. Does that make sense? This makes it difficult to get a clean-sounding strum. Is this a common issue for new ukulele players? I don’t notice such a thing when I play my guitar. Should I lower the action?

If there is "considerable" height difference it sounds like the action at the nut is WAY too high. Strings at first fret should be less than a dime's thickness above the fret.

Be careful about lowering the action. You are probably strumming way too hard. Before you lower it have someone who knows about proper adjustment take a look at it. I've bought more than one used guitar or ukulele from someone who tried lowering the action. It's easy to lower it too much.

Later today when I’m at home I will measure the height of the strings at the 1st and 12th frets.

I've made this comment before. Many new ukers fail to recognize that proper strumming is a skill and must be mastered slowly and correctly, before speeding up. Many of us, myself included, when starting out, tried to strum faster than our skill level permitted. Our fingers "got all tangled up on the adjacent strings, which are more flexible than guitar strings. Speed comes naturally with correct practice. that being said, assessing string height would still be a good idea. Perhaps this would help. If you do any setup work, most of the Cordoba's (if not all) have plastic nuts and saddles. A good time to upgrade.

http://www.theukulelesite.com/ukulele-setup.html

Last edited: