Ideas for first build?

Jo in Azat

Reaction score
Hi, i'm an experienced woodworker (i mostly build furniture and fancy staircases). I've just started playing uke and really fancy building one. Any good pointers as regards drawings / plans, and suppliers would be much appreciated. What did you build first time?

I'd go with either a concert or tenor to start. A soprano is a far more difficult instrument to build well than the other two options.

Several plans available out there to give you a start. Ones by Scott Antes while over braced certainly a a jumping in point. Hana Lima also has quite good plans. The art comes into how you interpret those plans, or use them as reference to designing your own instrument.

A feely available and quite excellent plan is also on Christophe Greiller's website. Though for a soprano, you will learn a fair bit from studying it.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi, i'm an experienced woodworker (i mostly build furniture and fancy staircases). I've just started playing uke and really fancy building one. Any good pointers as regards drawings / plans, and suppliers would be much appreciated. What did you build first time?

you can maybe either start with a kit or go to hanalima website and order all plans and material to your liking. have fun

Like you, I'm an experienced woodworker who took up playing a ukulele late in life. I chose to build a high quality kit ( Stu-mac mahogany tenor) and customize it as I built. I changed the top to spruce, added a custom rosette, and maple bindings. Over all, the experience was positive. But be prepared to learn a lot during the experience. Such as:

No matter how many tools you have collected over the years, you don't have enough and they aren't the ones you need.

You need to learn to be more precise at every step in the process and patience, patience, patience.

You need to look ahead at virtually every step in the process.