What's your favorite old-timey uke music?

blacula

Reaction score
Whether it is Vaudeville, Hawaiian, crooners, etc. What old-timey ukulele music do you enjoy?

I'm a total newbie to the genre, only heard Ukelele Ike and Roy Smeck for the first time today and enjoyed both immensely. Just curious what other gems are out there prior to the 1950's or so. What do you like?

Yep, Ike and Roy Smeck are inspirations and heroes for sure.

Also look up Sol Hoopii, Madame Riviere's Hawaiians, The Georgia Jumpers, Johnny Noble, Bill Tapia, Lani McIntire, Johnny Marvin and Jimmy Rodgers to mention a few.

If you like that Old-Timey vibe, modern ukers who do it as well as anyone are Lil' Rev, Aaron Keim, Lyle Ritz, Azo Bell, John Bianchi, Manitoba Hal and Dr Bekken.

Yep, Ike and Roy Smeck are inspirations and heroes for sure.

Also look up Sol Hoopii, Madame Riviere's Hawaiians, The Georgia Jumpers, Johnny Noble, Bill Tapia, Lani McIntire, Johnny Marvin and Jimmy Rodgers to mention a few.

If you like that Old-Timey vibe, modern ukers who do it as well as anyone are Lil' Rev, Aaron Keim, Lyle Ritz, Azo Bell, John Bianchi, Manitoba Hal and Dr Bekken.

I'm working my way through your list.

People often tell me that my originals sound "old-timey", perhaps in part because I use more jazz style chord progressions. I do love that old stuff, especially jazz standards from the 20s, 30s, and 40s.

Here's a link to a playlist of my originals: ukulele originals

It starts with George and ends with Formby. All the joy of the ukulele embodied in one bucktoothed Lancashire lad.

Thank you all for the many excellent recommendations. I've located a couple Sol Hoopii and George Formby recordings online & will continue seeking out the rest.

I really like what the Canote Brothers are doing. Doug, you've got a great sense of humor & knack for lyrics. I liked "Charles Darwin Almost Got Me", real nice stuff.

Last edited:
I like the 1920s 1930s Jazzy pop stuff.