PDA

View Full Version : No water-stones here...

Pete Howlett
01-13-2014, 10:43 AM
I promised this video aeons ago. Sorry - here it is at last.

http://youtu.be/qoqjf-dehxs

Moore Bettah Ukuleles
01-13-2014, 11:52 AM
I've never used a plane before but that looks like a clever approach to sharpening. Nice videos Pete. ;)

Gyozu
01-13-2014, 11:58 AM
Sandpaper on glass is alwyas a great simple way to sharpen and level items. I am saving up for some dimond stones, but until then it will be glass plate.

Is that your angle setting jig or the right side?

jcalkin
01-13-2014, 03:13 PM
For years I've used quarter sheets of 800 and 1200 mounted on the same piece of Plexiglas. The next step is white lacquer buffing compound rubbed into a piece of shoe sole leather glued to a wooden plank. I can never get my plane iron to shave hair off my wrist, but my chisels end up that sharp. I'm not sure that it makes a difference, but its a fun demo when folks tour the H&D shop. But the first step is to hollow grind the blade on the end of a belt sander mounted with 120 grit. I'm sure that fine stones take sharpening to a whole other level, but its just not necessary for the work I do.

Pete Howlett
01-13-2014, 09:45 PM
I heavily edit all my videos so miss out discussion about primary and secondary bevel sharpening, the use of diamond stones and other stuff you can easily find on YouTube. However I would consider this myth busting clip essential viewing:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UbAo4RpM7oM

Michael N.
01-14-2014, 12:05 AM
Yes but you have to take what he says in context. He's planing some pretty 'easy' wood and he's trying to encourage beginners who might be a bit overwhelmed by all the so called necessary 'kit'. If he was doing highly figured Maple or wood with runout then the extra fine grit is necessary. His video on sharpening Chisel and Plane blades shows him going up to 1200G (diamond) and then stropping like crazy on leather charged with polishing paste.