Ukulele Music Book Review Thread

davoomac

Retired Moderator
Reaction score
I personally have never really owned any ukulele books. I did have a ukulele chord chart by ron middlebrooke though. It came with my sop hilo.

I'm curious to see what ukulele books all of you have bought or used, and what did you think of it? What are some good books to look for?

I'm using Calvin Chin's 'Helping you go from lonely strummer to life of the party' and Sokolow & Beloff's Ukulele Fretboard Roadmaps. Both books teach much the same thing - moveable chords and picking patterns, but they use different methods. So for now, I'm going along with the Chin. Although I'm new to the uke, I do have a bit of music theory from playing piano and sax, so that helps with the heavier theory parts. The Roadmap book has a CD to listen to and play along with but the Chin doesn't. For songs to strum along to I use Ukulele's Wednesday's Songbook, free on the net.

What are other people doing?

I have a few diferent books, and this is what I think of each one.

UKULELE CHORD FINDER by Hal Lennard.
This has 1001 chords for the Ukulele.
It is a good reference book.

UKULELE METHOD BOOK VOL. 1
Written and Narrated by Lil Rev
Produced by Hal Lennard
This book is for the Absolute newbie.
It comes with a cd, and shows a person how to read simple tabs, and musical notation, but all of the songs are either nursery rhymes, or songs that were popular in the 1800's.
I would only recomend this one for someone that has never touched a stringed instrument before.

E KANIKAPILA PLAY ALONG SERIES VOL. 1
Featuring favorite Hawaiian songs
Produced by Nohili-Heizer Co.
If you love traditional Hawaiian, and Hapa Haole ( from the 1950's-1970's ) songs, then this book is for you.
This book gives a bunch of songs that are imbedded in the soul of Hawai'i.
It comes with an audio cd as well.
The only thing that I don't like about this book is, while it does show the chords that are needed, it doesn't show the strum pattern.