How's your Action and Intonation?

Kent Chasson

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to the uke world but it's obvious that poor action and bad intonation are very common complaints. Obviously this tends to be worse with cheaper instruments but I'm wondering about instruments in the $1,000 and up category.

In the guitar world, once you get an instrument set up well, the intonation typically stays pretty good but the action can change quite a bit with swings in humidity. I'm wondering how typical this is with ukes.

So question 1: Once you get a decent uke set up well, does it stay or do you have to keep adjusting action and/or intonation?

2. Once you settle on a brand and gauge of strings, do you tend to stay with it? I'm wondering about this because I've seen some massive differences in intonation between brands of strings.

Thanks.

1. My flea didn't need any set up from when I bought it. Some of my others could probably use a good set up, but don't get played enough to justify one. My custom uke did, but it is great now. I haven't noticed changes from humidity, but I wasn't checking for intonation,etc. at different levels of humidity. I do know I prefer the tone better when the humidity is good. When humidity gets too low it doesn't sound as good to me. This is opinion is very subjective of course.

2. I tend to settle with a brand/gauge of strings and stick with it.

to answer your questions: I have found that the boat paddle uke I have sounds good all the time but then again I do not think there is a huge fluctuation in humidity given i live by water. As for strings I am finding it is just like my mandolin, I went through many brands till I settled on one type. The trouble I am finding with uke strings is I need to give them time to really settle in.