I want to start...

Red Ruckus

Reaction score
been wanting to get into this instrument. ive never played an instrument besides a kazoo, and a ukulele seems easier to learn than a guitar. theyre small and conveniently sized. i like this instrument because it makes people smile. you cant frown and listen to ukulele.i saw a "starter" pack at my local Guitar Center...
00-37379_3D_2-42d6e8b7b2e333b072bd74fc2210ccda.jpg

40 bucks too! what say you, then?

also... i need to familiarize myself with the music jargon. like i said, im really new to the music scene. i cant read music, but my high school choir teacher says i have a good ear for tone and pitch.... i read a bit of a thread that talked about a ukulele "setup." what is meant by a "setup?"

Last edited:
A setup is a process some sellers put a new ukulele through to address potential playability and sound issues. This link provides details. Some ukuleles, especially lower priced ukes, can benefit significantly from a setup--a setup can sometimes be the difference between a ukulele that is playable and one that is not.

I am not familiar with the "Firebrand" brand of ukulele, so I can't speak to this package, but I suspect that you might be better off investing a bit more for a higher quality ukulele. Maybe someone who has seen or played this ukuele at GC will chime in here.

There are quite a few threads on this board with recommendations for starter ukes, including brands, price ranges, and sellers. I'm sure you are eager to get started, but you might want to take some time to read a few threads, read some reviews of ukuleles on this site and other sites, and learn a bit about what your options are.

That said, as you suspect, ukuleles are great fun! Welcome to the forum!

Cindy