Lanikai monkey pod vs Lanikai zebra wood.

KohanMike

Los Angeles, Beverly Grove West
UU VIP
Reaction score
The Lanikai monkey pod tenor cutaway I had cracked recently with the very dry weather here in Los Angeles, I actually gave it away to my young cousin, so I replaced it with the same configuration in zebra wood. I have to say,the zebra wood sounds better than the monkey pod, brighter with more sustain, and the action and intonation are also that much better out of the box.

As I did with the monkey pod, I'm going to yank the poorly conceived Fishman Sonicore preamp with controls inside the sound hole and put a Fishman Isis+ preamp/tuner on the side.

Monkey Pod 1st, Zebra Wood 2nd.

u5LanikaiMP.jpg

u7Lanikai Z.jpg

Last edited:
I have no experience with either tonewood so pardon the dumb question. Is the zebra the one on top?

How long did you own the monkey pod? I have the concert non electronics monkey pod and after about 4 months the general overall tone improved.

I also had the monkey pod about 4 months, and it did improve in that time, but I'm just saying that right out of the box, the zebra wood sounds and feels better than the monkey pod did.

Last edited:
I understand that zebra is similar to rosewood as a tone wood. If it is, it's likely to be quite bright.

I had the Zebra Wood cut-a-way acoustic electric. It had a great, what I would call, mellow sounds. Not bright but really rich and subdued. Loved it, but traded it for a Flea "Tiki God" Uke. I haven't seen or played the Monkey Pod to compare. The only negative item I had was that the headstock is heavy. Otherwise the uke is awesome!!!!

That's interesting. After playing it for a couple of hours now, it certainly is brighter than the monkey pod, and the intonation also very good. I'm going to play it at the Westside Ukulele Ensemble gig tonight.

Last edited: