ukulele sound is bad

itzryo

Reaction score
I have a Mahalo U-350 Deluxe Soprano Ukulele. When I play the ukulele it makes this bad sizzle sound when I strum it. I have no idea whats wrong with my ukulele. Maybe I need better strings, my current strings are plastic. Help please!

Sizzle? is the action too low?

Sorry, I'm a beginner. What do you mean by action?

1743377_638281136233541_694168846_n.jpg this is my action and the sound is more of like a shaking of a Maraca. It only makes that sound on the 2nd string up to down

It might be string buzz. If you pluck a single string does it make a buzzing noise?

I'm not thinking Mahalo has a high level of quality control when it comes to the playability of their instruments.

I have a Smiley Mahalo UM-40 soprano and let me tell you the strings it comes with are best kept for garbage ties or dental floss. Mine buzzed real bad on the two strings closest to you when played open (no fingers on it). I did a little work to mine lowering a high fret and cutting the nut and then gave up there after switching to D'addario titanium strings. It simply wouldn't stay in tune at all and frustrated me.

After putting on a set of Aquila nylgut soprano strings I am amazed at the difference of this little guy. Looking at my action your strings look easily twice as high as mine and my little Smiley no longer buzzes when strummed or fretting notes.

I think you would benefit most from a setup of your ukulele. I did my own work using the wrong tools and did a decent job remember Smiley was under $40 delivered. http://forum.ukuleleunderground.com/showthread.php?89687-Blueprinting-Smiley

Good luck