Craigslist Koalana Soprano

arcaknob

Reaction score
I saw this ukulele on Craigslist about 250 miles from me. I took a chance and bought it and had it shipped to me. Less than $100 to my door.
I think it is awesome!!! I knew very little about this brand. Just what I had read while lurking here for the past few months.

The top, back and sides appear to be one piece, I can't find a seam anywhere. It has been repaired where the back had separated from the lower bout. (Undisclosed in the ad. Beware Craigslist!) I tried to show a pic of this if I'm able to post pics. The repair was poorly done and a gap still shows but I don't care.

What a sound from this little uke. It is loud and has great sustain. I'm new to the ukulele and I just can't seem to put this little gem down.

Just wondering if anyone can tell me any more about this ukulele.

Attachments

• 003.jpg
    003.jpg
    87.5 KB · Views: 76
  • 001.jpg
    001.jpg
    88.5 KB · Views: 66
  • 002.jpg
    002.jpg
    87.5 KB · Views: 60
  • 004.jpg
    004.jpg
    82.6 KB · Views: 64
Wow-I think you did very well. I would contact a luthier though and have that seperation addressed. The "mother" company of Koalana is Koaloha. I own a Koaloha soprano and they are awesome ukes and most uker's feel they make some of the best ukes available (other than custom builds).

Here is a great video explaining the origin of Koalana, made by a dear old friend to many of us at ukuleleunderground-

http://youtu.be/WLeb-O478nk

You got a great deal! Congrats! If it was mine I would take it to a luthier and have it fixed properly. Bet it sounds great.