Just got a new guitar

pakiboy949

Reaction score
My friend just lent me a guitar i can use :D unfortunately at the moment, it's missing the g-string :eek: buuut anybody got any tips for beginners? I'm transitioning from the uke (being a pretty decent player) to the guitar with no guitar experience.

My friend just lent me a guitar i can use :D unfortunately at the moment, it's missing the g-string :eek: buuut anybody got any tips for beginners? I'm transitioning from the uke (being a pretty decent player) to the guitar with no guitar experience.

cut off the top two strings? jus kiddin haha sorry :eek: sumtimes when i play a guitar i play ukulele structured chords and some of them kinda sound ok, but just not touching the top bass strings.

Cool. I'm a beginner myself so I'm not quite qualified to give you any tips. Assuming that play a guitar is anything like playing a ukulele, you shouldn't have to many problems learning the guitar. Of course I'm only assuming though.

Two questions for you:
  • What type of guitar is it? (nylon-string acoustic, Steel-string acoustic, Electric)
  • What kind of music do you want to play?

you will find that the chord structures are a little more stringent, since you have the extra two strings to worry about.

on the uke you have several chord structures:
open G
open A
open C
open D
open F
all of which can be played in position 1 (first four frets) of the uke.
and then youve also got:
open F#m
open Gm
open Am7
open Am
open Dm
open C7 and Cmaj7
these, too, are all in position 1. (i may have missed some) and both of these chord groups can be moved up and down the fret board using barres to accomodate chords for tone and easy chord transition.

the guitar, on the other hand has two major chord families:
open A and open E
the other open chords that can be played in position 1 cant be easily run up the fret board just using a barre.