6-string questions

finkdaddy

Reaction score
I have a customer who is asking for a 6-string tenor. She wants the
1st and 3rd strings doubled.

Is there anything that I need to consider in my build?
I've never built one before, so I don't know if you should widen the width of the fretboard, nut, and saddle?

Is there anything I should do in designing the top to compensate for the extra string tension, or is it not enough to worry about?

Also, what are the guidelines on string spacing for a 6 or 8 string uke?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you!

~Fred

Approximately 20 pounds of extra string tension is certainly enough to worry about so make sure you modify your bracing and/or soundboard thickness.
When I've built 6 string ukes I've used a 1 1/2" nut width and spaced the paired strings 2mm apart from each other.

Approximately 20 pounds of extra string tension is certainly enough to worry about so make sure you modify your bracing and/or soundboard thickness.
When I've built 6 string ukes I've used a 1 1/2" nut width and spaced the paired strings 2mm apart from each other.

Thank you, Chuck, that is very helpful!

Oh my.
I've now been informed that she wants a long scale, 6 string tenor.
I understand that the two extra strings will add some tension, so I will beef up the sound board and probably the bridge patch as well to support the new strings.

But can anyone give me advice on pushing the neck out an extra 2 or 3 frets?
If I'm thinking of this correctly, I can't actually make the distance between the nut and saddle any longer, so I would have to change where the neck attatches to the body, right? But then would I have to change where the sound hole is? And then would I have enough room at the front of the body for attatching the neck?

I know I sound silly, but I just can't wrap my brain around the geometry. :eek:

Here is a video, just for reference: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-YwV1Vek94#t=56

Thank you, everyone!

~Fred