WMG and Youtube

Monkeyswithladders

Reaction score
Before I started playing ukulele and putting up music videos, I had a few youtube videos up of just random stuff. I just logged on youtube today and two of my these just got blocked due to the audio being "owned or licensed by WMG".

One was just a video of tessellations my I taught my 8th grade math class to make and had Smashing Pumpkins as background music. The other was of world of warcraft stuff I did backed by Blue Oyster Cult.

Are they cracking down hard on this stuff now? Or was I just unlucky?

My main concern is if this is going to branch into actual music covers. If the video had been me playing a Smashing Pumpkins song on ukulele, do you think that would have gotten blocked too?

No, they can't own or block rights like that. You're safe. We're not under big brother yet.

Yes, WMG has been cracking down on covers of songs that they own. More discussion can be found here and here.

They have indeed been cracking down. And sometimes they aren't even right. For example, Nutnfancy is a channel that I follow on Youtube. He mainly does table-top gun and knife reviews, and rarely uses music. But one time he did use some music, made by his friend, (for background music in a shooting video) and clearly stated that it was used with permission, but the entire video still got muted by Youtube due to copyright violation on the soundtrack.

But yeah, the companies have been ramping up their ownership powers.

The blocking probably won't spread to music covers...and if they do, Nutnfancy's gun and knife reviews will probably be even more popular....