three carbon fiber questions

finkdaddy

Reaction score
On an upcoming build, I'm going to want to add a carbon fiber rod to the neck and probably use some sheets as a bridge patch as well.
But I've never used it before, so I have some questions for you fine folks.

1) Where is a good place to order the material from?

2) Do I need to buy special tools to cut it?

3) What type of glue is used to secure it?

Thanks in advance!

~Fred

Here's where I get mine. http://cstsales.com/ They're close to me so I run over when I'm in their town. Found them on David Hurd's website.
Hack saw for the truss rods and scissors for the bridge plate material.
Epoxy for the stickum

Here's where I get mine. http://cstsales.com/ They're close to me so I run over when I'm in their town. Found them on David Hurd's website.
Hack saw for the truss rods and scissors for the bridge plate material.
Epoxy for the stickum

Oooo, that's perfect!:D
May I ask what thickness you would use for a bridge plate?
Also, is there a specific brand/type of epoxy you like to use?

Don't remember the brand of epoxy I have been using but I looked on the LMI website where I got it and it's not there but I would think any decent epoxy would do. They have Smith All Wood Epoxy and I guess I'll have to use that when I run out of mine.
As per David Hurd I've been using 0.030 for the bari's and tenors and 0.018 for the soprano's and concerts.
Mr. Hurd has a great web page on bridges and bridge patches http://www.ukuleles.com/Technology/bridgesize.html

The Composite Store for bridge patch strips www.cstsales.com

Somewhere out there on the net David Hurd has a page with information on carbon fiber bridge patches.

Dragonplate is a good place too.

System 3 T-88 Epoxy is excellent. It works well for oily hardwoods also, and other difficult to bond materials. Using an accurate scale with epoxies is a good idea, if you have one. Much more consistent results are possible when measuring epoxy with a scale.

Last edited: