Ukes available as part of my crowd-funding campaign!

weitzel

Reaction score
Hi there!
I'm primarily a banjo builder and have been trying to turn that into more of a formal business. To do so I have started a campaign on Indiegogo.com (similar to Kickstarter, for those who are familiar with such things.). I have also built some ukes and thought I would offer those as perks for donating to my campaign at the $500 level. Please check out the campaign at this link - http://igg.me/at/weitzelbanjo/x/5986406
I just joined UU today to let whoever may be interested know - usually I hang out over on the Banjo Hangout forum.
Here are some photos. I've only built one of them, the others will be built after the campaign is over (11 days from now).
They will likely vary from each other, and I'm open to custom suggestions, but would like to stick to a similar body style involving one piece neck and side construction, whether steam bent or flared (both options shown).
The first one has quilted maple back and peghead overlays, salvaged redwood top, and old-growth doug fir neck/sides. It has an incredible 24 frets (for no other reason than I felt like it!).
The second photo is Waltnut with a Cedar top, and sakura soundhole cutout. Please ask or email if you need more specs or wonder if I can do something specific.
Both of the ukes in these photos are sold, but are shown as reference to what is possible here.
Lots of other cool perks available there, too, so take a look!
Black-Uke-Back.jpgBlack Uke Front.jpgDSC04347.jpgDSC04348.jpg

Have you actually built any of the round one, yet? If so, how is the volume? I'd suspect that it would be rather hard to get much volume using a tailpiece and no tie to the top with nylon strings and a solid wood top. The pressure on the bridge with that design is going to be pretty minimal. Granted, banjo ukes are loud as heck but they've got skin tops, not solid wood...