How Do You Know Good Strings?

kuzuyan

Reaction score
I read the pinned post describing all the different strings over on the other section, and that is a lot of info to take in.

I'm pretty new to playing (only had my uke about a month/month and a half) and I don't think need to worry about changing strings just yet. However, I am curious.

I have a Lanikai soprano I got from Guitar Center with whatever it's stock strings are. For most of my playing they work great, but sometimes the C seems just a little bit off. Also, the A gets a sort of.. tinny? sound if I strum or pluck at or past the fifth fret. Is that normal?

When the time does come for new strings, how do I know which ones to try first with my uke? From what I've gathered different strings work differently with different ukuleles. I've seen many positive posts of Living Waters and Martin M600s. Some very mixed stuff on Aquila.

Anyway, sorry for the long post! I look forward to reading what you guys have to say, thanks!

I think you know good strings by how they sound to you. That might change day to day lol. I think Lanikai uses aquila and I think they sound pretty nice on mine. In the beginning, from my experience, my technique was and is more of a problem than the actual sound of the strings. I'm putting that string selection thingy off into my future for the most part. I need to work on playing better and getting too hung up on things like the sound of a particular set of strings, which can be pretty subtle to the untrained ear, is a distraction for me. Your milage may vary.