Song with just A minor and C?

Kmcmichael

Reaction score
Other than Billie in the low ground(an instrumental), I cannot think of one. It would be so easy to teach.

Is there a popular song with just these two chords?

I can't think of any or find any. Quite a few with the tonic and dominant 7th chord though.

yeah lots of childrens songs are simply F - c7(or a different variation as UkeJenny stated)
which is not that much harder than c - am

Change that to A7 instead of Am and you have the beginnings of a whole lot of blues songs. There have been many old timey blues songs played with just one chord, probably originally played on a "diddley bow." Here's a previous thread that may help. Pick 3 complimentary chords and you have a 12-bar blues progression going:

http://ukuleleunderground.com/2009/06/uke-minutes-51-blues-ukulele-chords/

Look up songs in the key of G, that'll narrow it down to a few million!;)

I have no experience teaching ukulele and not that much teaching guitar, but that is what I used Billy in the Low ground for in the past. If I do give uke lessons, nothing could be faster and develop interest more than teaching a couple of one finger chords that enable a student to play a song. It is also great when showing how to improvise.

Some of Johnny Cash's songs use both chords . .

I know tunes with Am and G ie Good old Rebel etc but I wanted to teach a someone a song with these two chords that can be done with one finger.

I do not remember a Cash song with only these chords?

The change I-vi (C-Am) is pretty rare, I-V (C-G) leads the polls in two-chord songs. As said, Fsus2 (0010) combined with C7 (0001) is the easiest entry into chord changing, and you have a more universal I-V change with just one finger there. As for Am-C, only 'Psycho Killer' by the Talking Heads comes to my mind, although the chorus also passes by an F and a G chord and the bridge even pushes it to a Bm.