fingerpicking, 3 fingers or 4 fingers?

frankie981

Reaction score
I wanna ask a question,
when you do finger picking,
you will use 3 fingers or 4 fingers??
I trained 3 fingers before,
after I bought "ukulele for dxxxxxx", i find that it teaches 4 fingers.
As a beginner, I start to be confused.
:confused:

I mostly use 4 finger picking sometimes 3 if the song requires Scruggs style banjo 3 finger picking.

I have the other book in that series, the Exercises one...and they teach 4 fingers too...I can't manage it. My ring finger always gets caught in the strings (maybe it's abnormally long or something lol).

I use three.

Use whatever you find comfortable. theres all these stigmas on this is the right position this must be played this way. Most of it is for your own good later on, especially when changing between certain chords but if you dont have fun doing it, more than likely you just wont. I use three mostly, sometimes four but as long as you are comfortable and having fun thats all that matters and if its that importnat you will learn it later!!

I think we should standardize these fingerpicking discussions to make them clearer. The hand is often described as a thumb and four fingers. Using the thumb is a given. So one finger picking is thumb and index, two finger is thumb and index and middle, three finger is thumb, index, middle and ring. Very few use thumb and all four fingers.

I generally use my thumb, index, middle, and ring fingers. So three or four depending on whether or not you count the thumb as a finger!

I don't really pay attention. I guess sometimes I use 'em all, and sometimes I don't.

If it sounds good, then who cares?

(Keeping in mind that I don't read music OR tab, and play strictly by ear...)

-Kurt​

A three finger roll

X-T-X-X
X-X-I-X
X-X-X-M
X-X-I-X
(Repeat over and over)

Is a great one to learn

(Don't know if that's the right way to depict)