How should I hold the neck of my uke?

Bookworm

Reaction score
So far, I've been holding my uke with my thumb pressed against the back of the neck. Should I be holding it more like a guitar, cradled in the crook between my thumb and forefinger? When I do that, I tend to mute the A string with my palm and it's harder to make chords. One website I saw claimed that holding the uke wrong could cause problems in your hands, so I was wondering if I should try to change my technique before it gets even more ingrained. Any advice?

I recommend holding it with the thumb on the back of the neck. This is how you would be taught in classical guitar. It puts the least strain on the hand. I also use a strap most of the time which helps support the neck so all my fingers need to to is fret, not hold the neck.

A lot of guitarists hold the neck in the crook of the hand, which lets them use the thumb to fret as well. I've never had much luck with this.

Good luck!

as a classical guitarist I can tell you what works for me.

Your best bet is to free up both hands so you can move around easily both on the fretboard and to strum or pick.

while I can play without a strap as you can see on some of my youtube videos I prefer to have strap buttons installed on most of my ukuleles. there are other alternatives including the Uke leash which gives some added support as well.

once you start using a strap you now have both hands free. And for the left hand specifically I try to use my thumb only for balance not support. The optimum is to have the pad of the thumb resting behind the neck, balancing your hand so your fingers can move around. it may go up and be seen over the fretboard but only because of the size of the neck, not because it's supporting the uke.