How to modify mini amp to run off Gel Cell batteries?

jcarlos

Reaction score
I'm going to be doing a lot of outdoor events and busking this summer and I am looking for better battery options for my mini amps. I've been using a Fender Mustang Mini for several months now, I am pleased with the sound, but the battery life is very low. 3 hours max with 8 C batteries. I recently bought a Vox Mini 5 because the battery life is longer and you can set it to low -wattage modes, I got it with the hopes that I could find a sound that I enjoy with that amp but I still like the sound of the Mustang Mini better. So I looked around a bit and found that some folks have modified their AC powered amps to run off of Gel Cell batteries. Does anyone know how to go about doing this? I'm a complete noob at any of this, btw

Auto supply shops sell adaptors that plug into the 12 volt 'cigarette-thingie', and delivers AC mains voltage. Could easily be coupled to a gel-cell battery.

I'm going to be doing a lot of outdoor events and busking this summer and I am looking for better battery options for my mini amps. I've been using a Fender Mustang Mini for several months now, I am pleased with the sound, but the battery life is very low. 3 hours max with 8 C batteries. I recently bought a Vox Mini 5 because the battery life is longer and you can set it to low -wattage modes, I got it with the hopes that I could find a sound that I enjoy with that amp but I still like the sound of the Mustang Mini better. So I looked around a bit and found that some folks have modified their AC powered amps to run off of Gel Cell batteries. Does anyone know how to go about doing this? I'm a complete noob at any of this, btw

I have done something similar with a video camera setup, and also separately with a mobile DJ setup, so maybe my experience can help you.