Iz's Ukes -- Size and Setup

limegreensuit

Reaction score
What was Iz's preference with size and tunings of his ukes? He probably did not use the same setup all of time, but very curious to know.

Gene

I'm not an expert on the man, but I believe he favored a Martin tenor in low G tuning - though in his videos the uke looks smaller than a tenor..........

:agree: I am also under the same impression.

Everything looked small in Iz's hands! He weighed around 700 lbs. I always assumed he played tenor.

Who is Iz?

Martin has an Iz model tenor. From what I've read, that's what he played, and used a low G.

Iz is Israel Kamakawiwoʻole, a Hawaiian musician. He died several years ago, and spent most of his life rather obese. He seems to be most famous for his rendition of Somewhere over the Rainbow.

Last edited:
Iz was one of the most important figures in modern Hawaiian music.

From Wikipedia:

Death

Throughout his life, Kamakawiwoʻole was morbidly obese and at one point weighed 767 pounds (348 kg; 54.8 st) standing 6-foot-2-inch (1.88 m) tall. He endured several hospitalizations because of health problems caused by his obesity. Beset with respiratory, heart and other medical problems, he died at the age of 38 in Queen's Medical Center at 12:18 a.m. on June 26, 1997. Kamakawiwoʻole is survived by his widow, Marlene Kamakawiwoʻole, and their daughter, Ceslie-Ann "Wehi".