String advice please?

Icelander53

Reaction score
Well as a beginner I did just enough research to make sure my ukes had decent strings based on popular opinion and a some full on reviews. I went with Aquila knowing they were a good bet and they have been. Now however it's time for me to see for myself what all this bru ha ha is about string differences. Maybe with my untrained ear I won't hear much but I hope that's not really true. Anyway I have a entry level Lanikai LU21 tenor that I've had for awhile. I almost began this quest about two years ago but couldn't get the confidence to get going so these strings have been on it a long time but only played hard for a few months. Anyway it's been a nice instrument and I guess I got lucky because it plays well and easily. And blah blah blah, sorry about all that background.

I want to put on new strings. I think I'd like to go with a Low G tuning. I can't say that I really like the Aquilas on this particular instrument but what do I know at this point? What would you put on this instrument? I'd like a more mellow sound if possible.

I'd recommend Living Water. The low G tenor set is also the "custom" baritone set I have on my Bruko tuned to Linear A. Pretty sure this would work great as a Linear B or C set on a tenor scale.

Try something fluorocarbon. I like Worth strings or PhD. You could go SouthCoast, but that might be overkill.

I think I would stick with Aquilas on your Lanakai, but if you want to try something else, try Martin M600's, they're inexpensive and widely available. Worth CM might be worth a try also, if you can find them, they will be a little heavier than the Martins, therefore more tension and closer to the Aquila weight/tension.