Passing on Ukes due to stock Aquila Strings: What other strings would work well?

sam13

Reaction score
Hello All,

Just wanted to let you know I love these boards and appreciate your input greatly! Thanks in advance.

I am having a hard time considering a new ukulele because of the stock Aquila strings. I know some like them and that is great ... but as a newbie I like warmer sounds ... like cedar, mahogany and koa. I find that the Aquila strings remove the warmth from the sound.

But as a newbie, I have very little knowledge of what might work. I am considering the following Tenor ukuleles:

Gretsch 9120 SM - Mahogany
Mainland Tenor Cedar/Rosewood - (I find it really bright and need to tone it down a little ... Worth Browns?)
Kala STG - (I know it is a solid Spruce Top but is there a string that would mellow out the brightness a little?)

Thanks for your thoughts,

sam13

strings are typically $5-$7...no need to pass on a uke because you don't like the strings!

Strings are both cheap and easy to change. In my opinion just about any string sounds better that Aquila. I hear the string more than the instrument. Generally, fluorocarbon strings will be smaller gauge than nylon strings, thus less tension for a given pitch. This makes them seem easier to play for me. YMMV. Again generally, Fluorocarbon (Martin, Worth, Fremont, Oasis, Living Water, PhD) strings will be a little brighter than nylon (D'Addario, Ko olau, GHS) without being as brash as Aquila.

Mahogany sounds to me like a "mellower" sound wood. My mahogany (sapele, really) concert blends the sound more than my koa concert. That becomes a mood thing. It also affects how you will sound when playing in a group.

Cedar and spruce will be louder/brighter with any given string. They are both softer woods so a little more care should be taken not to ding the top.

When I get an instrument strung with Aquila strings I'll whip a set of Martin M600 on it after about three strums.