Multi-week Season

greenie44

Big King Velour
UU VIP
Reaction score
Hi all -

I've been participating in the Seasons for about 6 months, and it has been fruitful and enjoyable. But one part of a Season is starting to bug me.

Many of us have jobs (and even an occasional other responsibility outside of ukes!), so to get a video done in a week kind of requires coming up with a choice early in the week and sometimes either rushing to get it done or limiting what we do in order to get it done. For instance, less in the way of multi-tracking or remote collaboration.

It's think of a song and record it - fun, but a specific kind of fun, IMHO.

I thought it might be interesting to have a Season that ran more than one week, which would open up more possibilities while not eliminating anyone who wanted (or was able) to do a 'one-take wonder'. We could even have a multi-week Season running simultaneously with a single week Season.

What do you folks think of this idea?

To be honest I think the whole fun of the seasons is to be forced to produce a song/video in one week. To me the seasons would not be the seasons anymore if we would be changing the one constant it has, which is every week a new challenge. If you need more time to complete your epic performance you can always post it on the Island. And I do have a job by the way ;). And having two/three seasons running at the same time, seems to me, like making it even more complicated. Just my two cents.

Maybe if two hosts who have weeks that followed each other agreed to somehow make a double week with a 14 day deadline?

I agree that the Seasons' one-week pressure keeps the entries informal and the banter lighthearted. It's the core appeal of the Seasons.
If you choose to go forward with a two-week performance option, please don't call it Seasons; that would be way too confusing.

You can always start a challenge at any time on the contests thread. Why not start with one there?