PDA

View Full Version : Strings Beyond Aquila

Concertina
03-15-2014, 03:38 AM
So, I'm relatively new to this... Just over a year of playing... And I've read some threads about different brands of strings. So, I come to you all to ask, based on my little uke family in my signature:

1) what kind of strings would you suggest
2) where is the best place to get them

The music shops around me all only sell Aquilas. Until now, I thought they were the standard so I just kept buying them. But I would love to have my ukes sound the best they could.

pixiepurls
03-15-2014, 04:11 AM
So, I'm relatively new to this... Just over a year of playing... And I've read some threads about different brands of strings. So, I come to you all to ask, based on my little uke family in my signature:

The music shops around me all only sell Aquilas. Until now, I thought they were the standard so I just kept buying them. But I would love to have my ukes sound the best they could.

I read a lot online and some people LOVE aquila's in particular on cheaper Ukes and some people are like BLEH no no no! Its very much personal PREFERENCE! So you should try a few different sets. I personally have 3 ukes with aquilas on all, 2 of the ukes are cheap kid ukes and I will keep aquila's on them, but for my kala solid mahogany I will eventually try something else, but I want something soft on my fingers to make learning easier! My local music shop had no aquila strings at all actually, the local ukulele shop does in the city though, they had lots of different brands but I think thats because they carry more then 1 ukulele, they have 2 walls full!

I see Elderly recommended on here a lot:
http://www.elderly.com/brand/STUK_worth.html for those Brown Worths or Clear Worths.

Shar Music is very reliable also and they have some uke stuff, they focus on stringed instruments and I use them for all our violin supplies but I only see aquila on there:
http://www.sharmusic.com