all this talk about weather and ukes... newb perspective

pixiepurls

Reaction score
Random questions from an ukulele newb!

What is the best time to order an uke from Hawaii and have it shipped to the mainland?

Is there "bad" time of year to have any uke shipped to you?

I ordered a pono solid mahagony from HMS, it comes with a humidifier. I've never used one before, any tips or advice? I have a solid mahogany tenor and it didn't come with a humidifier and it is almost never in its cheap gig bag... its always next to my bed and chair in my room. Is this something I really need to worry about with my solid mahogany instruments? I live easy coast.. I know nothing about humidity.

Are these instruments that delicate? Or am I getting worked up over reading forum threads?

My previous guitars where all laminate tops and lived in my house, closets and even storage in GA (where it is pretty damp but man does it ever get hot). I never saw a crack or even thought to worry about a crack.

At what price point or wood type do you really need to start to worry?

I know not to leave a wood instrument in my car, thats a big no no with the violin in particular.

My daughters violin never had any humidity warnings and it cost $500. It sits in its case in her room we have had it a year I've never even known to worry about cracks. The only time I've ever worried about cracks was when looking at instruments at flea markets or antique stores because most likely those instruments were stored in non-climent controlled situations.

In terms of shipping an instrument, I have never had a problem, but the risk of damage does go up if the instrument will go through extreme changes in temperature. When an instrument goes through a rapid change between very cold temperatures and warmer temperatures, finish cracking can occur. This can usually be avoided by allowing a cold instrument gradually come up to room temperature over several hours while still packed away.