How can Humidifiers work in Snug Cases?

Katz-in-Boots

Reaction score
I use humidifiers on my solid wood ukes, of course. I have 2 different types, both only fit in the top part of a hard case; in the headstock area.
On one hard case, the lid padding comes right down onto the strings. I'm wondering, am I only humidifiying the headstock? Is it possible for all parts of my ukes to benefit in this type of case?
(interestingly, this case has a hygrometer set into the accessory compartment - can it only read what's happening in the headstock area?)

Should I be looking at an 'in-uke' type of humidifier in such a snug case?

I would think the water vapor, in the state of a gas, would be able to permeate the area of the case even if it is snug. But, I am no scientist. Just an armchair observation. I would think that a humidifier in the body of the instrument would do the job better.

A humidifier in a hard uke case doesn't just humidify your ukulele, it humidifies the case materials as well. Most hard cases are wood costruction, which absorbs moisture and provides a stable envronment to its interior. The vinyl covering serves as a barrier trapping the moister air inside. An in-case hygrometer may show a difference in different parts of the case at first but after a little time closed, i think you would find that the wood case and wood uke have pretty consistent internal RH level.