PDA

View Full Version : Blemished Lanikai!

JJFN
03-19-2014, 08:37 AM
Need help please. Saw on Ebay a Lanikai CK-C blemished, on sale for under $90. Supposedly only minor cosmetic blemishes. Has anyone any experiences with this type of purchase. It seems legit, but mama told me "if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is". Any input is greatly appreciated. Thanx in advance.
PS The uke was new. JJFN

Kayak Jim
03-19-2014, 10:10 AM
If you have seen good photos of the blemishes and can live with them, as well as a uke that is not professionally set up, I'd say go for it. Butler Music is an ebay seller that has some great deals and while I have no personal experience, others have spoken favourably of their experience buying from them.

OldePhart
03-19-2014, 10:25 AM
Yeah...Butler seems to be one of the better "second tier" mass market vendors. I.e. they aren't like the guys at HMS or Mim or what have you but they do seem pretty honest and try to describe their products accurately.

I haven't bought a blem from them but I have bought another uke from them and it was basically drop shipped in the factory box - which is what I was expecting so I had no problem with it.

Butler has been very honest in listing some ukes with significant problems on eBay and in those cases they mentioned the problems and even recommended that nobody buy the uke unless they were prepared to do some serious repair. So, if they're saying it's minor and cosmetic it probably is...unlike the guy who was buying Butler's worst basket cases and then trying to flip them in the Marketplace here as first-quality ukes a couple of months ago!

However, even a "first" CK-C could need some setup adjustment (lowering nut slots, usually) so just be aware it's not like you're getting a uke set up by a pro or anything.

John

RyanMFT
03-19-2014, 11:05 AM