PDA

View Full Version : Unable to tune C string on Ukulele

Krios
03-19-2014, 03:18 PM
Hello to all the uke players on this wonderful forum,
I'm new to this forum so please tell me if there is thread like this, however I searched for it and didn't find anything relevant.
I'm a beginner and bought my first uke just a few weeks ago. It was a $50 Kala MK-S Makala Soprano Ukulele. Every was absolutely fine, I quickly learned how to tune (by ear) and started playing right away. I had to retune it every day or even every other day, but I think this is normal. A few days ago, I was retuning my uke as usual, but suddenly this one string wouldn't tune. I didn't pull or overstretched it, as far as I'm concerned.
Before I bought it, I've read quite a few reviews and a lot of them advised to get Aquila Nylgut strings, as the ones that were already installed sound not as well.
So, if I buy a new set of strings and restring it, would it fix my problem? Or is there something wrong with the ukulele itself?
Can't wait to get my hand on that beautiful instrument again!
Thanks in advance!

Moore Bettah Ukuleles
03-19-2014, 04:34 PM
I'm not familiar with the tuners on those ukes but if there is a screw on the back of the tuner knob, tighten it a little and that should solve your problem. Easy peasy.

mm stan
03-19-2014, 07:58 PM
Welcome to the UU, yes Chuckie is right, there is a little screw in the middle of the knob of the tuners to hold them in place ..
A good Idea even if you can tune by ear is buy a chromatic clip on tuner just to double check if you are new...and remember the
my dog has fleas tune as you strum down the strings..
PS. also if you loosen the strings all the way, you will have to break in the strings in again in the stretching process before the strings sound right again...Happy Strummings..

Krios
03-19-2014, 08:03 PM