Stress Bustin' at Work with Uke

Ukuleledad

Reaction score
photo.jpg

Anyone else doing this?!

Yes so much so that my bosses are wondering if I really do ANY work!! Seriously, my heart doctor said it was the best thing for me Stress kills! Has killed some of my good friends

Yes, I'm a Hospice nurse, and I always take one of my ukes to work. I play for almost evey patient and family member. It is always well received, and reduces stress by at least 500%!
It's been so rewarding that 3 other Hospice nurses bought ukuleles!

Yes, I'm a Hospice nurse, and I always take one of my ukes to work. I play for almost evey patient and family member. It is always well received, and reduces stress by at least 500%!

Nickie. You. Are. AWESOME!!!!!!

Very cool Ukuleledad. Now you just needs ta buy one for the fella just out of shot and you got a jammin partner. :)

I wish I had my uke and knew how to play when I was working in nursing homes. The residents would have loved it.

Last edited:

This is wonderful.

I don't get to play uke at "work" since I teach private lessons on flute/clarinet.

I keep a uke in my locker at work. I play for myself on break as a stress reliever, for coworkers that will listen and are also interested, and for patients that see the uke and bring up questions about it. It's a fun instrument. I've only met one person at work that has made a negative comment about me bringing my uke to work…a supervisor complained a couple years ago and said "people are getting tired of hearing that thing". Turns out "people" was him. It was stealing the limelight from his bad jokes. Anyway, I still take a uke to work, he's retired, and all is well. For me it's therapy, if I didn't have one at work, things would be more hectic than they already are. For me it just feels natural to have one there. I get requests for songs in the break room and have even had my performances of uke and vocals recorded on iPhones. They dig it…for the most part.