MiSi pickup install question or 2.

pektel

Reaction score
Hey everyone. This is my first time modifying an acoustic instrument, so there are a couple details that I'm hoping someone can clarify for me before I dive in to this over the weekend!

Instrument is a Kala SMHT

Just a couple questions:

1. For the endpin jack - I'm assuming it's okay to drill through the endgraft. The videos I saw were only on ukulele's without any endgraft. Just don't wan't the joint to separate or anything.

2. The bridge on a Kala doesn't leave much room for drilling at an angle (at least a 45° angle). My question is: How much of the saddle needs to sit on top of the pickup for proper performance? The saddle is 2" long, strings are 1/4" from each end. If I split the difference between the end of the saddle and the string so I can drill at somewhat of an angle, will that be sufficient?

I've attached a couple photos for reference.

Thanks in advance!

Re your points

1. Yes - drilling through the inlay is fine - cover with tape, drill pilot hole then main hole - will be fine
2. Not sure on your second point - when I have fitted - just drilled straight down towards end of the saddle and feed through

When I installed mine, I stuck a couple layers of masking tape around the area. Then I used a brad point bit which tends to scour the wood before it starts drilling to prevent blowouts.

As for the bridge, I took a sharp awl to mark the entry points in the saddle to try and reduce the chance of the drill bit walking when I start to drill. I used a Dremel with sharp drill bit just shy of the diameter of the saddle. Start entering the saddle perpendicular until the hole JUST starts then turn it roughly 45 degrees on both ends. Both holes were drilled so that they are the length of the saddle but not wide apart so that they were visible when the saddle is replaced.

Last edited:
Thanks for the responses/advice guys! :)