This normal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

UkuLeLesReggAe

Reaction score
i just re-string my ukulele...

every time i pay something, it goes out of tune... is this normal?? and it buzzes a bit...

this because they r new strings??
thanks

well its normal for strings to go out of tune pretty quickly after you've just restrung your ukulele, so try doing a lot of stretching (try not to stretch them in only one point- instead try distributing it over multiple parts of the string using different fingers) and retuning. It should stop going out of tune so quickly after a little while.
With the buzzing, it could be that the strings are a slightly thicker size (or thinner, i dunno) than the strings you had on before you changed them (I'm only guessing as i'm not that experienced with this part), but my ukulele does fret buzz on the 8th fret of the A string because the string is slightly touching the fret directly to the right of it. Maybe someone else can help you out there?

Btw, tell me if it keeps buzzing after you've stretched them out more. i'm curious ;)

cool,
hey did you replace them with a different brand of strings or just the same one? I assume that they'd all have the same gauge strings (depending on which type of uke they're for) but when I replaced the strings that came with my uke I noticed that the C string of the Aquilas was slightly thicker, which made it a bit harder to replace, and i can't help but wonder if all of the strings were thicker... because I don't remember there being fret buzz on the 8th fret of the A string before I changed it

but then again maybe the fret buzz is there because its a kinda cheap ukulele and I wasn't paying attention before

and lastly *omg you're not 20 and a half hours behind me in time zone difference :eek::eek::eek:*