Date a Martin Style 1

Skinny Money McGee

Reaction score
I took a chance and bought this Style 1 from an ebay auction. I actually thought it was a style 0 at first because of the crappy cell phone pictures he posted. I told myself I would never buy anything from bad pictures, but took the chance anyway and spent 435 dollars.

As it was being shipped to me, I studied the pictures a little more and realized this was probably a style 1 which it turned out to be.

The uke is in excellent shape. There might be a very slight hairline crack between the bridge and the sound hole, but looks like it could be a finish check also. The back and sides are clean, and the neck is nice and straight. Fretboard is in excellent shape.

The original plastic tuners are crap, and one is broken. I'm going to have a tech at Elderly install Grover 4b's on it, and look at the possible crack.

I just wanted a vintage player, but looks like I might have done ok here.

Anyone have an idea what year this is? 50's ?

Attachments

• full size.jpg
    full size.jpg
    30.2 KB · Views: 112
  • headstock.jpg
    headstock.jpg
    51.1 KB · Views: 94
  • back.jpg
    back.jpg
    28.8 KB · Views: 89
  • fretboard.jpg
    fretboard.jpg
    38.8 KB · Views: 89
  • upperbout.jpg
    upperbout.jpg
    35 KB · Views: 89
Skinny, that's awesome! They all have tiny cracks, no worry, and if yu want, Old Brown Glue (a hide glue brand).

Some people use Ping tuners, which are $15 on Amazon, saying they fit Martins perfectly. I have never tried one.

Tips I've learned in past couple years:

See those finger-use marks on the fretboard? 0000 steel wool on frets and wood of fretboard itself. It'll look like new. Yep, just sand that fretboard with it. No worry (I then Tru-Oil mine, but that's optional)