importing timber into Australia

Paul Henneberry

Reaction score
Howdee,
I'm thinking of importing a few Koa soprano sets from Hawaii and a couple of curling maple blanks from Continental USA into Australia.
How does this work with Australian customs and quarantine and am I going to have problems importing unfinished timber?

My idea is to break up a wide curly maple blank to make the neck, sides and back of one instrument for continuity of colour. I've never worked with maple before so should I be buying soft or hard maple for this project?

cheers

Paul

I like Big Leaf Maple, from the Pacific Northwest (think Oregon) better than either Hard (sugar) or Soft ( silver) maple. I strung this single 0 a few days ago:
newcase.jpg

Some of the best Ukes I've seen come from Oz and are Australian Blackwood acacia. I saw them at the Healdsburg Guitar Festival in 2011. My personal concert has Oz B'wood sides and neck and koa plates. I have made many guitars from both OzBW and Koa and my money is on the former. It would be a lot easier to get for you.

Can't speak for Australia but I brought back into Canada some koa lumber pieces from a recent trip to Hawaii. When I first said I had "wood items", the customs officer wanted to know what items. I said "lumber" but then quickly explained it was "finished lumber, not branches or logs". He waved me through no problem.

Importing wood into Australia is easy as long as you keep in mind the restrictions. Don't think that you're going to slip something in that's on the CITES list without great risk to having seizer of the items and possible fines.

It must be clean and dry, with no sign of bugs, dirt, bark etc. Most reputable luthier suppliers know that this is the case and would never send wood that didn't meet those standards.

Packages that contain wood may be opened and inspected by AQUIS, and probably 1 in 4 of my imports are inspected.