soprano or tenor?

Papa-Ooke

Reaction score
Hello to all, it's been a while since I posted. I've been playing my Ohana CK-10 Concert for a couple of years now and having a blast. So the UAS is kicking in and I think it's time for a new uke. I was thinking soprano, but then got to thinking maybe a tenor would be the next best step. What do you think would be the best logical step for my next uke? Any suggestions on brand or model or place of purchase (got my CK-10 from Mim)? Thanks for any info.

Papa

Hello to all, it's been a while since I posted. I've been playing my Ohana CK-10 Concert for a couple of years now and having a blast. So the UAS is kicking in and I think it's time for a new uke. I was thinking soprano, but then got to thinking maybe a tenor would be the next best step. What do you think would be the best logical step for my next uke? Any suggestions on brand or model or place of purchase (got my CK-10 from Mim)? Thanks for any info.

Papa

To me a concert and a soprano are very similar. A tenor can sound a lot different. Find a store and relax and take your time and try playing a bunch, different sizes and woods and types etc. Thats the only way to make the best choice IMHO. I took a risk and got a Baritone online, i don't regret it though but any other nice Ukulele's I ever get will be in person. Its amazing how different they sound.

If you want something noticeably different go with the tenor. I occasionally play a concert but tenor is where it's at for me.

try out both, and then figure out what u like, both are different so. what is your budget? that will help with suggestions

Thanks to all for the advice. I think I would like to keep the budget around the $100-$150 range for now. Something comparable to the CK-10 I have now. Before I spend a lot on a uke, I think I should know if I like the size or not, I may not be able to play a soprano. Thanks again.

Papa