Dug this out of my old guitar case.

The Big Kahuna

Reaction score
I bought it about 15 years ago, maybe even longer, and it worked great for strengthening my fingers and speeding up my playing. They're cheap, so it may be worth a try if any newbies are having problems with lack of strength in their fingers.

gripmaster-00-800x600.jpg

those are in lots of old 80's movies lol!

I used something similar when I started playing. Mine is more like a "nerf" bag- very stiff sponge. Not quite as finger specific as the spring type but you can still squeeze it with one finger at a time.

I have a couple of those old spring things around here somewhere. They say a ball or putty bag is more effective. Tennis ball (as in the picture) is a little big for a lot of people (like me) but there is a smaller somewhat compressible ball that supposedly works well... The putty bags you can get from physical therapy supply places seemed most effective for me, though I haven't used mine in ages and I think it finally got thrown out. The bag lets you work individual fingers and in all directions (i.e. squeezing between two adjacent fingers, etc.

I don't think any of that is really necessary on a uke unless maybe if you've been very inactive and you've got a uke with a spectacularly bad set up...

John

I bought it about 15 years ago, maybe even longer, and it worked great for strengthening my fingers and speeding up my playing. They're cheap, so it may be worth a try if any newbies are having problems with lack of strength in their fingers.

View attachment 66045