lowering the action

chuck in ny

Reaction score
here is the question. i scored a very nice gold label kamaka soprano off of ebay, glued it a bit, cleaned it up and gave it a wax finish, all quite nice.
the strings sit off the 12th fret no more than 1/8". can this be left alone or should i take it to a luthier and have the bridge lowered.
help a noob here. i am going to try posting a pic for the first time.008.jpg008.jpg009.jpg

hey! the pics worked! the uke had been mildly abused, pick damage, age. i am very pleased with the tone and character of the koa wood, and the sound of the kamaka sopranos. when you are bidding on the 'bay all you have is intuition and luck to guide you. the instrument was $315. shipped.

First off congrats on the ebay steal. You always roll the dice and that one looks pretty sweet. My advice on the action is leave it alone for now and play the heck out of it. If it's a little high and the intonation is bugging you then look into lowering it. I used to try and and get the action as low as possible but as my playing has matured I find myself playing harder with more assurance and I appreciate a little more clearance to avoid buzzing etc. I have also found on soprano scale particularly, that backing off on the finger pressure cures quite a bit of going sharp on the higher frets. Getting a clear tone with minimal pressure works wonders.

Still I'm sensitive to intonation issues so if it's more than a few cents off at 12 when lightly fretted then I would probably have to address it.

librainian

thank you. i strongly suspected it should be left alone and played.