How does tonewood affect amplified sound?

peaceweaver3

Reaction score
It's been asked before how installing an undersaddle pickup affects acoustic sound. But that's about all I can find. I'm still wondering how the soundboard wood affects the amplified sound.

If it matters... The uke will be a Mainland tenor, and the pickup, the Mi-Si. I'm new to both. So to those of you with experience, does an amplified mahog tenor sound different than an amplified red cedar tenor for instance? Since Mi-Si is an undersaddle pickup, I'm guessing it wouldn't make much difference. Is that true? :)

Thanks for your thoughts!

The tone wood will have relatively little affect on the signal from an under saddle transducer. That's not to say that there will be no effect, but it will not be as significant with a UST as it would be on a soundboard transducer or microphone. This is why some artists prefer a soundboard transducer even though such are typically more susceptible to handling noise and feedback - the soundboard transducer generally produces a signal that more faithfully reproduces the acoustic tone of the instrument.

Also, keep in mind that how heavily the signal will be amplified (with respect to the position of the uke soundboard) also matters. I.e. usually a softer top wood like cedar will feed back at high volumes more readily than a hardwood like mango or mahogany. Again, there is less difference with a UST than with a soundboard transducer or microphone, but there is some tone wood dependency.

All that said, an UST is much more convenient and "trouble free" in a live performance environment, which is why they are so popular on all kinds of acoustic instruments.

John

It may have more effect than you might think, if....................you use a high quality acoustic amplifier and the pickup is very good quality.