A Quandary, Have You Been There?

WashAshore

Reaction score
I've been playing for Uke for 7-8 weeks, have a Concert, Tenor and a Baritone. I thought I wanted
a Soprano until I played one, didn't like it. I know I should play more than one but the small small body
did nothing for me. So now I'm thinking mandolin, banjo or four string cigar box. I play alone so
projection and quality tone is not an issue. Have you found yourself in a similar situation-what did you do?

Use the shotgun approach..........just keep buying. Something will step up and suprise you.

Like you I just started playing about 8 weeks ago. I started with the concert, then bought a cheap soprano which got replaced with a better one (the cheap one going to my friends daughter who fell in love with it) and finally a concert Banjolele. I eventually want to get a tenor, maybe a baritone at some point. Another friend just bought a mandolin that he's been playing around with for the past few days. We restrung it this weekend (that was a task!) He eventually wants to get a banjo as well.

Just pick up different instruments in the music store and see how they feel to you. See which ones you love and appeal to you.

I've been playing for Uke for 7-8 weeks, have a Concert, Tenor and a Baritone. I thought I wanted
a Soprano until I played one, didn't like it. I know I should play more than one but the small small body
did nothing for me. So now I'm thinking mandolin, banjo or four string cigar box. I play alone so
projection and quality tone is not an issue. Have you found yourself in a similar situation-what did you do?

Upgrade one of your other ukes :) trade it in for something really nice. Or spend money on a nice pickup for one of your existing ones. Or save the money for a vacation to hawaii :)

Upgrade one of your other ukes :) trade it in for something really nice. Or spend money on a nice pickup for one of your existing ones. Or save the money for a vacation to hawaii :)