Which strings on vintage ukes??

marcocolo

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm an only 2 month player living in the sticks of Iowa. When you live where I do it's impossible to try before you buy. So, life is short and I've bought a few and I've come to realize I really love the "mojo" of early 1900's ukuleles.
My question is: these old ukuleles originally came w/ nylon strings ,yes? Probably fishing line. My understanding is they had very low tension. My concern is that new strings could put a lot of stress on these sometimes rather fragile works of art.
Which strings out there (that sound good) are really low tension like the originals on these old Kumalaes, Nunes, Kamakas, Harmonys, etc.? Thanks in advance.

I'm surprised there hasn't been more response since there are a lot of vintage aficionados here. My guess was that these ukes came with gut strings, not nylon strings, but I'm no expert and could very well be wrong! I do know that gut strings were common in the first part of the last century.

You might want to look into D'Addario Nyltech strings, easily available on Amazon. I've heard vintage uke folks say these are the closest they've found to the sound and feel of real gut strings. I've used them and they are really nice sounding strings, particularly on mahogany ukes. To me they definitely feel lower tension than fluorocarbon strings (which I actually prefer, but I like high tension).

Hope that helps, and maybe gives you a starting point as to what to look for.

I think old strings were made from gut...

but I don't think there are major issues with using Martin M600 strings for example. Soprano sets are pretty low tension, and the neck is short. I have a style 1K from the mid 20s with these on, in D tuning no less..no problems.

Unless there are other structural issues with the instrument of course.

If a uke is particularly valuable or fragile, or if it's keeping you up at night, you might just de-tune between uses.