New Ukulele

Annatheuke

Reaction score
So I have been playing ukulele for several months now and I started off with a cheap one. Now I am thinking about getting a new one that is better quality. I was looking at some that had really cool designs but I'm not sure how much that will impact the sound. Any ukulele recommendations? Thanks.

I am sure you will get many suggestions. What size and what price range are you looking at?

Either a concert or soprano, and no more then 100$ (since its only my second uke I don't want to buy a super expensive one yet)

what were you looking at that had cool designs? slash what do you have now (better for determining what an upgrade would be). With that price I would try to look used, or jump ur price up a lil cause with a bit more spending cash there are tonnes of amazing upgrades without spending crazy amounts but getting something that is nicer.

I started playing last June, within three months I bought 6 lower end ukes for about $150 each. By six months I got to a point where I realized most of those were just not good enough, so I traded in three of them for a really good Kala tenor for $370, $150 after trade in. I thought I was being smart not buying a better quality one at first, but in retrospect, I should have spent more in the first place.

I'm actually planning on getting a custom made gypsy jazz style sometime soon and will sell off two more of the lesser ones.

Last edited:
Im not exactly sure what you consider cheap for your first uke but a makala pineapple from ukerepublic is a hundred bucks theyll set it up throw you a tuner and a bag and put aquilas on for just at 100 bucks. It may not have cool designs on it but it is a pineapple which i do love, plus i really enjoy mine, i have better ukes but find myself grabbing this one more and more because its fun and easy to play

I wanted one after playing on one meant for little kids, where I found I loved the ukulele.