Hawaiian Airlines and Ukulele carry on

Howie1947

Reaction score
Anyone had a problem with taking ukes on board. My Tenor case measures more than 45 "linear" inches. I have never had any probs in past

No, never. I fly Hawaiian Airlines very frequently (mainland and interisland) and I have never had a problem - and I always have a tenor case with me.

Here's the text of that post. But go to the thread anyway (and read all the posts), because it appears to be one of the more recent threads on this topic.

This topic comes up every so often and I try repost the following post I made a couple of years ago. I have a unique insight into this topic. Hope this helps:

As an Airline Pilot based in Honolulu I couldn't resist adding my 2 cents. I bring my Kala travel uke with me EVERYWHERE. I often jumpseat on airlines other then my own so I have lots of experience in this area. Here is my advice:
1 - NEVER, EVER check or gate check your ukulele - NEVER
2- TSA - The rules state that you can carry on one instrument in addition to your carry on and personal item. They don't always know the rules, they are poorly trained and are performing an unskilled task for a meanial amount. Therefor you can surmise the level of employee they recruite. Arguing does no good, simply ask to speak to their supervisor and tell them to refer to TSA.gov website section pertaining to: Transporting Musical Instruments, then politly explain the rules.
3 - Kindness and niceness go along way, however the gate agent (the person who collects the tickets) is your biggest obstacle. If the gate agent attempts to make you gate check your uke tell her, "I carry it on all the time, if it doesn't fit I would be happy to gate check it", however don't forget rule one.