stringing a baritone uke to GDAE

davegraham

Reaction score
Hello,

I don't normally post here, but I thought that this may be of interest to some baritone players, or uke players wanting to try something different. I've been playing uke for a few years now, and I also like the baritone quite a bit-but I'm not really a fan of the DGBE tuning, as I'm also a guitar player (although my love for the instrument has waned in place of the uke). In any case, I've come across a string arrangement for tuning the baritone to GDAE, which is the same tuning as a mandolin, but much lower. I've found that it really works quite well. So for those interested, here goes:

1st string- E string from a baritone set, nothing new there
2nd string- Fremont low G tenor string UNWOUND, tuned to A
3rd string- D string from baritone set, moved to 3rd position
4th string- Low E string from classical guitar set tuned to G, preferably hard tension.

The trickiest string was the "A" string, trying to find what would work best. I discovered the Fremont string just today, and it is perfect-no need to worry about too high tension or undue stress on the bridge, as the Fremont low G's are very elastic and when tuned to A on a baritone the tension is just right. So there you go, I know it's pretty lengthy, but I was fairly pleased to find this arrangement out, so hopefully some out there feel the same way.

Hmmm. I bought a baritone uke from another member and it came with a set of GCEA strings. I personally didn't like them because I found them too stiff. And not very responsive (the sound wasn't better or louder). I play the bari at times because there are some songs the lower range suits better. I stick with DGBE because it's the same as my tenor guitars and I don't need to learn a new chord pattern.

Very interesting. I just tuned my baritone DGAD, kind of like a mini version of DADGAD and I'm really loving it.