Transposing from Piano to Uke (Low G tuning)

cre8tive1

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to the Uke and have been away from playing music for quite a while. When I played Saxophone and Clarinet I used to transpose piano notation so I could play it on my other instruments.

I have some songs I would like to transpose for Uke (Low G tuning) but cannot seem to find any information on how many steps/semitones I need to adjust.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

You don't need to adjust piano music for uke the way you do for horns - as long as the notes fit within the range of notes on your low G uke, you shouldn't have any issues. I do this all the time; once in a while I need a low F and then I'll need to transpose to a different key but not often.

If I'm buying piano music, I'll use one of the online services such as musicnotes.com that allow you to choose the key you'd like to purchase - I find that F works quite well on uke.

Janeray1940,

Thanks for the tips. So if I have a song that doesn't fit within the range of the Uke, do I just transpose however many steps up until it fits? I find that easy with chords, but tedious with standard notation.

Janeray1940,

Thanks for the tips. So if I have a song that doesn't fit within the range of the Uke, do I just transpose however many steps up until it fits? I find that easy with chords, but tedious with standard notation.

You're welcome! And yes, it's a bit tedious, which is why I like the online music sites that will do it for me :)

II have been trying to find online websites where I can enter in my own standard notation for piano and then transpose to Ukw with tabs listed below, but I haven't been able to find any.

Suggestions?

Transposition

II have been trying to find online websites where I can enter in my own standard notation for piano and then transpose to Ukw with tabs listed below, but I haven't been able to find any.

Suggestions?