Side and back material

dusty

Reaction score
Hi all. First post here. I'm new to ukes but have been a guitar player for 30+ years. I live in a dryer climate, with the humidity occasionally dropping into the teens (summer and winter), but sometimes hitting 70% inside during the rainy season. I use humidifiers for both my acoustic guitars and so far so good, but now that I'm looking at a couple of tenor ukes, I'm debating between laminate back/sides vs. solid (I've read through several posts here on UU about solid vs laminate tops and overall construction, but didn't find anything on just backs and sides).

My question is how much I will lose going from solid back/sides to laminate, assuming all else is the same (top tonewood, construction type and quality, etc.). Specifically, I'm looking at a solid mahogany tenor (Kala, Ohana, etc) vs the Ohana TK-20S (solid mahogany top, laminate sides and back) and the Ohana TK-50G (all solid: cedar top and rosewood back and sides) vs the Kala ATP-CT (cedar top, laminate sides). These are all in the $200-300 range, and price difference is less important to me than sound and stability through humidity fluctuations.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Dusty,

Your best bet for stability through humidity fluctuations is certainly going to be laminates. However, the consensus is that solid wood ukes (in general) produce the more pleasing tone. If you like warmth, choose mahogany. It will give you a more 'classic' uke sound, and will be great for strumming. If you like a little brighter tone with greater clarity and note separation for fingerpicking, rosewood is a better bet. Cedar will help add warmth to the rosewood, and many people feel that this is the ideal tonewood combination. It will, however, produce a sound that more closely resembles a classical guitar than will mahogany. I love classical guitar, so I'm ok with that.