Music theory for ukulele players

ichadwick

Reaction score
Any recommendations for books, websites, podcasts, videos or tutorials on learning music theory?

I want to learn more, and improve my music reading skills, too.

I'm curious to know what level of theory are you working on right now?

I've been playing guitar since the mid-1960s. I understand basic theory and can read music rather slowly. I can't sight read and need to refer to charts for things like key signatures. I recognize notes by timing and rests by timing. I need to put it all together and improve both theory and by reading speed.

I have a simple graphic for teaching key signatures, or the circle of 5ths (or going the opposite direction, the circle of 4ths)

C - all natural
F - Bb
Bb - Bb Eb
Eb - Bb Eb Ab
Ab - Bb Eb Ab Db
Db - Bb Eb Ab Db Gb
Gb - Bb Eb Ab Db Gb Cb
B - F# C# G# D# A#
E - F# C# G# D#
A - F# C# G#
D - F# C#
G - F#
Key - whats in the signature

Using this diagram, start from the top, C, and count four letters, you get F, the next key.

Starting from the bottom, G, count up five letters and you get D, the next key going in that direction.

In the middle, remember that the key of Gb is the same exact thing as the key of F#. They are the same exact note, just named two different ways. Played at the exact same spots on the fretboard.

The order of sharps and flats will help you remember Keys. The first sharp will always be F#, second will always be C#, then G# and so on.

The order of flats operates in the same way. You always start with Bb, then Eb, then Ab and so on.

If you remove sharps, they come off in the same order. Four flats will always be Bb Eb Ab Db. Remove one and go to three flats, you will always lose the Db.

So, if you can memorize the order of the flats, and then memorize the keys, you will always know the key of D major has 2 sharps, and the first two sharps are F# and C#.